St Lucia Facts & Info


St Lucia is one of the Windward Islands, in the middle of the Eastern Caribbean chain of islands. The island is 27 miles long and 14 miles wide, with a population of about 179,062. St Lucia’s capital – Castries – has a population of about 50,000, and is a short drive from Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort.

St Lucia’s climate is tropical, with typical temperatures of 70-90°F (21-32°C); the island is mountainous and volcanic, covered with areas of lush rainforest. The rainy season is June to November, with an average annual rainfall of 160-360cm depending on the altitude.

The main language of St Lucia is English, and many people speak French and Spanish. St Lucia has its own second language, Kwéyòl, which is widely spoken throughout the island’s population. Kwéyòl is not a patois; in fact, it is a language in its own right. Kwéyòl is a living language and there are special news and radio programmes in Kwéyòl to help preserve the language for future generations.

You can find out more about St Lucia by visiting the island’s main tourism website,